Dr. Estelle Simons, Professor Emerita at the University of Manitoba, served as the Founder and Head of the Division of Allergy & Clinical Immunology in the Department of Pediatrics and later as Training Program Director in Allergy and Clinical Immunology at the University.

Her research has focused on the pharmacologic and immunologic modification of allergic diseases. She has published laboratory-based, hospital-based and community-based investigations of anaphylaxis and epinephrine (adrenaline), including unique studies of epinephrine auto-injectors and novel epinephrine formulations for use in first-aid treatment of anaphylaxis in the community. She has authored more than 570 peer-reviewed publications, many of which are highly cited (h-index 79), and edited or co-edited 8 textbooks, including UpToDate.

She served as President of the Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (CSACI), Chair of the Royal College Clinical Immunology Specialty Committee, and Chair of the Allergy Section of the Canadian Pediatric Society. Subsequently, she was elected as President of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI) and served several terms on the World Allergy Organization (WAO) Board of Directors.

Her numerous honors include the CSACI Award for Lifetime Contributions to Allergy and Immunology Research, the Canadian Medical Association Medal of Service, the AAAAI Distinguished Service Award, the AAAAI Distinguished Clinician Award, the American Academy of Pediatrics Bret Ratner Award for Allergy Research, the WAO Distinguished Service Award, and the WAO Scientific Achievement Award.

Dr. Simons is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and a Laureate of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.