Scientific Advisory Board

We are advised by visionary scientists who share our goal of empowering at-risk patients and caregivers to better protect themselves from severe allergic reaction that could lead to anaphylaxis.

Michael Kaliner, M.D.

Dr. Michael Kaliner founded the Institute for Asthma and Allergy and is a former director of the Allergic Diseases Section of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases at the National Institutes of Health, where he was also director of the training program in which more than 100 fellows in allergic disease were trained.

Dr. Kaliner has been listed in “The Best Doctors in America” by Woodward and White, 1994 to 2005 editions. Dr. Kaliner has published more than 450 articles, manuscripts, supplements and books focused on asthma, sinusitis, allergy and anaphylaxis.

Dr. Kaliner has served as a former president of the American Academy of Asthma, Allergy and Immunology and as a former president of the World Allergy Organizations and the Greater Washington Asthma, Allergy and Immunology Society. He has also been the chairman of the American Board of Allergy and Immunology, the organization which certifies allergists to their training.

Richard F. Lockey, M.D.

Dr. Richard Lockey is division chief at the college of medicine internal medicine, director of allergy and immunology and leader of the clinical research unit at USF Health.

Dr. Lockey conducts research to find long term treatments for allergic diseases and asthma. In addition, he oversees the divisions clinical research unit, which has participated in most major drug innovations for the treatment of allergic diseases and asthma over the past 30 years. He has also been published and is the recipient of numerous awards including the Dr. Robert D. and Alma W. Moreton Original Research Award.

Dr. Lockey is a member of the Association of Clinical Researchers and Educators, Society of Industry Leaders, network of Vista Research, a division of Standard and Poor’s, Florida Academy of Sciences and Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society of Tampa Bay. He is a previous president of World Allergy Organization and the American Academy of Allergy and Immunology, a former vice president of medical affairs for the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, and a former director of the American Board of Allergy and Immunology.

Dr. Lockey received his M.D. from Temple University and his M.S. in medicine from the University of Michigan.


Dr. Estelle Simons, Professor Emerita at the University of Manitoba, served as the Founder and Head of the Division of Allergy & Clinical Immunology in the Department of Pediatrics and later as Training Program Director in Allergy and Clinical Immunology at the University.

Her research has focused on the pharmacologic and immunologic modification of allergic diseases. She has published laboratory-based, hospital-based and community-based investigations of anaphylaxis and epinephrine (adrenaline), including unique studies of epinephrine auto-injectors and novel epinephrine formulations for use in first-aid treatment of anaphylaxis in the community. She has authored more than 570 peer-reviewed publications, many of which are highly cited (h-index 79), and edited or co-edited 8 textbooks, including UpToDate.

She served as President of the Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (CSACI), Chair of the Royal College Clinical Immunology Specialty Committee, and Chair of the Allergy Section of the Canadian Pediatric Society. Subsequently, she was elected as President of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI) and served several terms on the World Allergy Organization (WAO) Board of Directors.

Her numerous honors include the CSACI Award for Lifetime Contributions to Allergy and Immunology Research, the Canadian Medical Association Medal of Service, the AAAAI Distinguished Service Award, the AAAAI Distinguished Clinician Award, the American Academy of Pediatrics Bret Ratner Award for Allergy Research, the WAO Distinguished Service Award, and the WAO Scientific Achievement Award.

Dr. Simons is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and a Laureate of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

Phillip Lieberman, M.D.

Dr. Phillip Lieberman is a clinical professor of medicine and pediatrics in the departments of internal medicine and pediatrics (divisions of allergy and immunology) at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine in Memphis, TN.

With an interest in the fields of asthma and anaphylaxis, Dr. Lieberman has authored or co-authored more than 250 scientific publications and is co-editor of the text Allergic Diseases. He is a past president of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology and the American Association of Certified Allergists. He has also served on the board of directors of the American Board of Allergy and Immunology.

Dr. Lieberman is a graduate of the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, where he also completed his internal medicine training. He completed his allergy/immunology fellowship at Northwestern University.

Guy Ludbrook Ph.D., M.B.B.S., F.A.N.Z.C.A., G.A.I.C.D.

Dr. Guy Ludbrook is a Professor at the University of Adelaide and Director of PARC Clinical Research at the Royal Adelaide hospital.

Dr. Ludbrook has been widely published in scientific literature with a particular focus on pharmacology and is involved in the planning and management of many early phase pharmacological trials, including first-in-human trials of anesthetic and analgesic drugs. He is increasingly involved in health services review to optimize value in healthcare and in the design and the study of new systems of care.

Dr. Ludbrook received his M.B.B.S., F.A.N.Z.C.A. and Ph.D. in anesthesia and pharmacology from the University of Adelaide and A.N.Z.C.A., and is currently studying Health Economics at London School of Economics. He has received at London Business School, Harvard Business School and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Motohiro Ebisawa, MD. Ph.D.

Motohiro Ebisawa is the Vice-director of Clinical Research Center for Allergy and Rheumatology, Sagamihara National Hospital and the visiting Professor of the Jikei University School of Medicine. He graduated from The Jikei University School of Medicine in Tokyo, Japan in 1985 and took short visiting resident course in the department of Pediatrics at St. Thomas Hospital in London, UK. He completed his postgraduate studies at the Jikei University School of Medicine, where he earned his PhD. He did postdoctoral fellowship on the analysis of “mechanisms of eosinophil specific recruitment” in Dr. Robert P. Schleimer’s laboratory at Johns Hopkins University from 1991-1993.  He also had a chance to visit Dr. Hugh Sampson’s food allergy unit regularly during his fellowship. After coming back to Japan, he started food allergy practice and research at Sagamihara National Hospital since 1995. He has published more than 200 papers on International journals in addition to numerous numbers on domestic ones.

He is a leading expert in food allergies in Japan and currently serves as the President-elect of World Allergy Organization (WAO), where he has served in different leadership roles since 2010 (member at large 2010-2013, Treasurer 2014-2015, and Secretary General 2016-2017). He also serves as associate editors of Pediatric Allergy and Immunology and Current Opinion of Allergy and Clinical Immunology.